Butcher & Blackbird by Brynne Weaver is a dark romance involving two serial killers who hunt other serial killers. The Butcher and Blackbird is the first book in The Ruinous Love trilogy. This is the first dark romance book and it was a bit eye-opening. I was expecting a little more sex, but when it does happen it is long and intense. It takes over half the book for the characters to have sex, which felt a little long. When the sex occurs it is fierce, dirty, and degrading. There was some kinky stuff some stuff I felt like need some consent first or a conversation about what you’re into before anal and snowballing. This book is about two psychopaths so maybe no consent is needed. I did find it funny that both characters admitted to not having sex in three years, yet one of them carried lube for anal, oh yeah they’re crazy. This book knows exactly what it is and doesn’t try to be anything more which I found refreshing. the trigger warnings are on the first page of the book and the author has a note on the second page that reads, “For those of you who read the trigger warnings and said, “accidental cannibalism?! Count me in! this one’s for you. The book already started very tongue-in-cheek with humor. The story doesn’t go too heavy into the trauma of what made them monsters or the people they hunt, but it gives the reader enough to go on. The pacing is a little slow at the beginning but when the sex starts happening the pages start to fly. The book ends where it hints at what is to come. Do not skip the bonus chapter to see where the next book Leather and Lark is headed and who the villain will be. Butcher & Blackbird was published on December 12, 2023, by Slowburn.

Plot Summary: Sloane also known as the Orb Weaver as she plucks her victim’s eyes out, runs into Rowan also known as the Butcher. Sloane kills the target that Rowan was after as they both hunt serial killers but Sloane ends up trapping herself as Rowan saves her. They are both infatuated with the other with Sloane calling Rowan pretty. Rowan suggests a competition a year from now they pick an unknown target and the first one that gets a kill, wins. What starts as talking trash about who will win turns into flirting, once each other sees the monster hiding inside they run away or into each other’s arms.

What I Liked: For the most part the sex was hot there were a few scenes where I’m not into that but I know others are, and most importantly you could feel the character’s connection. I loved the date scene where one of the characters thought it was about them but the the other character wanted it to be a hunt. I thought the scene was well done and you could feel the moment they realized they messed up. I loved the joke after the trigger warnings. I loved the witty banter between them. There are some good bits of humor, especially with Rowan and his brothers. I like that the author included mood music for the chapters.

What I Disliked: Rowan and his Irish-ness were very inconsistent sometimes it was there but others it was not. Sloane has three genital piercings I thought they were not described well as I’m still pondering on exact placement and do not want to look them up. So I feel they could be described better. For the killers that they hunt, I wanted more of a challenge and more of a build-up.

Recommendation: There’s a page and a half of trigger warning this book will not be for everyone. I would say you have to have dark humor to enjoy this book and a very open mind when it comes to sex scenes. I had fun with this book and will recommend it, I did request the next book Leather & Lark to read an advanced copy, but the way this book is blowing up on BookTok I don’t know if I have a chance.

Rating: I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars. I did try one dirty thing from this book and my wife approved, so that is the highest rating of all.

One thought on “Book Review: Butcher & Blackbird by Brynne Weaver

Leave a comment